Total Pageviews

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Celtic Wedding

with The Chieftains

Celtic Wedding is an album of traditional Breton music performed by the Irish band The Chieftains. The album features guest performances by the Breton artists, Nolwenn Monjarrret, Bernard Pichard, Alain Guerton and Michel Bertae. Nolwen Monjarret later appeared on the Chieftains' album, The Bells of Dublin, performing "A Breton Carol" with the band.

The album's liner notes state that the music was selected from a publication entitled Tonioù Breizh-Izel (Traditional Tunes from Lower Brittany), which contains over 3,000 tunes collected by Polig Monjarret, who collaborated with Paddy Moloney in choosing the tunes for the album. The original album's cover (later changed in more recent reprints) features a painting by the Scottish painter Alexander Goudie. Celtic Wedding was nominated for a Grammy Award


1. Dans Mod Koh a Vaod (Old fashioned Dance) 
2. A Breton Carol 
3. Dans Tro Fisel (Dance from the Fisel Country) 
4. Marches (From the Vannes Country) 
5. Dans Bro-Leon (Dance and Song from the Leon Country) 
6. Heuliadenn Tonioù Breizh-Izel (A Medley in which each member of the Band plays a Tune of his own Choice) 
7. Ev Chistr 'Ta, Laou! (Cider Drinking Song) 
8. Jabadaw (Dance from Breton Cornwall) 
9. Celtic Wedding (A Medley of Song and Dance describing the Famous Ancient Breton Ceremony)